Words Hurt Transcript

Negative Experience

Title Screen:  You send. She reacts. Click here to see how the words you use affects others.

The video opens on a girl's bedroom with the viewpoint from a laptop webcam. She enters the room, closes her door then walks past her bed at the rear of the room and continues to walk towards her laptop. The girl is around 15 years old. She is dressed in casual jeans and a simple pink t-shirt. She sits down in front of the laptop computer and begins reading the screen.

Once she is done reading, she begins to type and there are typing sounds as she sends the following messages, which appear on the left side of the screen as text bubbles. As each message is sent, there is a message sent blip sound.

[blip] hey:)

[blip] it was nice seeing u at school today

[blip] loved what u were wearing. It looked so good!

The girl pauses and waits for a response. A text bubble appears on the lower right side of the screen.  The bubble has some text, a blank space with a flashing text prompt for the viewer to enter in a word to complete the message, as well as an enter arrow.  The bubble has the following text:

Ya, u looked [blank] today. 

The word, pretty, is typed into the blank space, creating the message - ya, u looked pretty today. A message sent blip sounds and then the text bubble disappears.

The girl responds to the positive comment. She reads the message and then smiles.  She continues to smile; she types the following message, which appears on the left side of the screen in a text bubble, along with a message sent blip sound.

[blip] hehe thanks

The message disappears and the girl pauses while another text bubble appears on the lower right side of the screen. The bubble has some text, a blank space with a flashing text prompt for the viewer to enter in a word to complete the message, as well as an enter arrow.  The bubble has the following text:

lol ur so [blank]

The word, ugly, is typed into the blank space, creating the message – lol ur so ugly. A message sent blip sounds and then the text bubble disappears.

The girl responds to the negative comment. She looks upset and moves around uncomfortably in her chair. She tries to compose herself and then looks at the screen.  A text bubble appears on the lower right side of the screen.  The bubble has some text, a blank space with a flashing text prompt for the viewer to enter in a word to complete the message, as well as an enter arrow.  The bubble has the following text:

i [blank] u.

The word, hate, is typed into the blank space, creating the message – i hate u. A message sent blip sounds and then the text bubble disappears.

The girl responds to the negative comment. She now looks even more upset and tears are welling up in her eyes. She is visibly shaken and she types a message response, which she has trouble typing out while being upset. Her message appears on the left side of the screen in a text bubble, along with a message sent blip sound.

[blip] Please stop.

With tears in her eyes, the girl pauses and waits for a response. A text bubble appears on the lower right side of the screen.  The bubble has some text, a blank space with a flashing text prompt for the viewer to enter in a word to complete the message, as well as an enter arrow. The bubble has the following text:

why r u so [blank]

The word, stupid, is typed into the blank space, creating the message – why r u so stupid. A message sent blip sounds and then the text bubble disappears.

The girl responds to the negative comment. She is now crying and sobbing, breathing heavily and sniffling. She closes her eyes, pauses and then opens them, before turning away from the screen. She gets up from the laptop and walks slowly back to her bed. As she walks back, she is crying and sniffling. She then sits on her bed, put her hands on her legs and then lowers her head and looks at the ground.

A text bubble appears on the lower right side of the screen.  The bubble has some text, a blank space with a flashing text prompt for the viewer to enter in a word to complete the message, as well as an enter arrow.  The bubble has the following text:

everybody thinks ur [blank]

The word, awful, is typed into the blank space, creating the message - everybody thinks ur awful. A message sent blip sounds and then the text bubble disappears.

The girl looks up after hearing the message sent blip sound, then stands up and returns to the laptop and sits down.  She is still crying and extremely sad. She reads the message and then closes her eyes and breathes deeply, while sniffling.  She raises her hand to close the screen. The screen starts to move down in a closing motion onto a laptop keyboard. The screen fades to black.

On screen text:  Canada.ca/StopHatingOnline with the Canada wordmark.

Voiceover: Words Hurt whether they are said or sent. You can take action against cyberbullying by sharing this video. Visit Canada.ca/StopHatingOnline.  A message from the Government of Canada

Date modified:

Les Mots Blessent Transcription

Expérience négative

Titre de l'écran : Tu envoies. Elle réagit. Clique ici pour voir comment les mots que tu utilises affectent les autres.

La vidéo s'ouvre sur la chambre d'une fille que l'on voit à partir de la caméra Web d'un ordinateur portable. La fille a environ 15 ans. Elle porte un jeans décontracté et un simple t-shirt rose. Elle entre dans la chambre et ferme la porte, puis elle passe à côté de son lit au fond de la pièce et continue de marcher vers son ordinateur portable. Elle s'assoit devant l'ordinateur et commence à lire l'écran.

Une fois qu'elle a terminé la lecture, elle tape les messages suivants et les envoie; les messages apparaissent sur le côté gauche de l'écran dans des bulles de texte. Il y a un bip après l'envoi de chaque message.

[bip] hé :)

[bip] c'était l'fun de te voir à l'école aujourd'hui

[bip] bcp aimé ce que tu portais. Super beau!

La fille assise devant l'écran fait une pause et attend une réponse. Une bulle de texte apparaît sur le côté inférieur droit de l'écran. La bulle contient du texte, un espace en blanc et un texte clignotant incitant le lecteur à entrer un mot pour compléter le message, ainsi qu'une flèche Entrée. La bulle contient le texte suivant :

Tu étais [blanc] aujourd'hui. 

Le mot « jolie » est tapé dans l'espace en blanc pour former le message – tu étais jolie aujourd'hui. On entend le bip indiquant l'envoi du message, puis la bulle de message disparaît.

La fille réagit au commentaire positif. Elle lit le message, puis sourit. Elle continue de sourire, elle tape le message suivant, qui apparaît sur le côté gauche de l'écran dans une bulle de texte, puis on entend le bip indiquant l'envoi du message.

[bip] hihi merci!

Le message disparaît et la fille fait une pause alors qu'une autre bulle de texte apparaît sur le coin inférieur droit de l'écran. La bulle contient du texte, un espace en blanc et un texte clignotant incitant le lecteur à entrer un mot pour compléter le message, ainsi qu'une flèche Entrée. La bulle contient le texte suivant :

t'es vraiment trop [blanc]

Le mot « laide » est tapé dans l'espace en blanc pour former le message –t'es vraiment trop laide. On entend le bip indiquant l'envoi du message, puis la bulle de message disparaît.

La fille réagit au commentaire négatif. Elle semble bouleversée et remue sur sa chaise, mal à l'aise. Elle essaie de se ressaisir, puis regarde l'écran. Une bulle de texte apparaît sur le coin inférieur droit de l'écran. La bulle contient du texte, un espace en blanc et un texte clignotant incitant le lecteur à entrer un mot pour compléter le message, ainsi qu'une flèche Entrée. La bulle contient le texte suivant :

t'es tellement [blanc].

Le mot « moche » est tapé dans l'espace en blanc pour former le message – t'es tellement moche. On entend un bip indiquant l'envoi du message, puis la bulle de message disparaît.

La fille réagit au commentaire négatif. Elle semble maintenant encore plus bouleversée et les larmes lui montent aux yeux. Elle est visiblement ébranlée et répond au message, qu'elle a de la difficulté à écrire en raison de son trouble. Son message apparaît sur le côté gauche de l'écran, dans une bulle de texte, ainsi qu'un bip indiquant l'envoi du message.

[bip] arrête stp

Nous voyons l'adolescente, les larmes aux yeux, faire une pause et attendre une réponse. Une bulle de texte apparaît sur le côté inférieur droit de l'écran. La bulle contient du texte, un espace en blanc et un texte clignotant incitant le lecteur à entrer un mot pour compléter le message, ainsi qu'une flèche Entrée. La bulle contient le texte suivant :

pkoi es-tu si [blanc]

Le mot « épaisse » est tapé dans l'espace en blanc pour former le message – pkoi es-tu si  épaisse i stupide. On entend un bip indiquant l'envoi du message, puis la bulle de message disparaît.

La fille réagit au commentaire négatif. Elle pleure maintenant, et elle sanglote, respire bruyamment et renifle. Elle se ferme les yeux, fait une pause, puis les rouvre avant de se détourner de l'écran. Elle se lève de l'ordinateur et marche lentement vers son lit. Alors qu'elle marche, elle pleure et renifle. Puis, elle s'assoit sur son lit, dépose ses mains sur ses jambes et baisse ensuite la tête pour regarder le sol.

Une bulle de texte apparaît sur le coin inférieur droit de l'écran. La bulle contient du texte, un espace en blanc et un texte clignotant incitant le lecteur à entrer un mot pour compléter le message, ainsi qu'une flèche Entrée. La bulle contient le texte suivant :

tout le monde pense que t'es [blanc]

Les mots « bonne à rien » sont tapés dans l'espace en blanc pour former le message – tout le monde pense que t'es bonne à rien. On entend un bip indiquant l'envoi du message, puis la bulle de message disparaît.

La fille lève la tête après avoir entendu le bip d'envoi du message, elle se lève et revient vers l'ordinateur portable et s'assoit. Elle pleure toujours et est extrêmement triste. Elle lit le message, puis ferme les yeux et respire profondément, tout en reniflant. Elle lève le bras et l'allonge au-dessus de l'écran. L'écran commence à descendre dans un mouvement le rabaissant sur le clavier de l'ordinateur portable. L'écran devient noir.

Texte sur l'écran : Canada.ca/nonalacyberintimidation avec le mot-symbole Canada.

Voix hors champ : Les mots blessent, qu'ils soient prononcés ou envoyés. Agissez contre la cyberintimidation en partageant cette vidéo. Consultez Canada.ca/nonalacyberintimidation. Un message du gouvernement du Canada.

Date de modification :