Secure Websites Transcript

Whether it's buying shoes, managing bank accounts or just connecting with friends, most of us depend on websites. Unfortunately, it's easy be fooled by fake websites that are designed to give your money or private information to criminals. Thankfully, it's now easier to know when a website is secure.

When you need to use a website to make a purchase or provide sensitive information, there are two big things to think about: The first is the connection from your computer to the company's computer. Your name, credit card information and other things have to travel from one to the other. This connection needs to be secure, so that criminals can't access the information in route. The second is knowing that you're working with a company you trust. If you're working with a company you trust using a secure connection, your information is safe. But how do you know?

Knowing what to look for in a browser is a big step to using secure websites. Let's consider the connection we mentioned earlier. Secure websites encrypt information before sending it between computers. This makes the information completely unreadable for criminals. Only the computer on the other end can read it, making the connection secure.

There are two big ways to tell the connection is a secure one… First is the address bar, where you're used to seeing "http". Secure websites have an address that starts http"s" for secure.

You can also look for a padlock icon in the browser. If you see the "s" and padlock the connection is encrypted and secure.

But what about the organization behind the website? How do we know it's not a criminal with a secure connection? Well, a new system makes this easy. Newer web browsers display colour and company names in the address bar that help you know the site is trustworthy. It works like this. Organizations that depend on security can have their websites reviewed and validated by licensed unbiased companies called certificate authorities.

These rigorous reviews ensure the organization and website are trustworthy and using a secure connection. If the tests are passed, the site is issued an EV SSL certificate. And only sites with these certificates display the coloured bar, including the company name, along with the address. Green means Go, red means stop. This review process means criminals can't obtain the certificate that's required to display the colourful information. So when you see a site with the green info in the address bar, you can be sure it's legit.

Now, if you're reading the news or checking the weather, security doesn't matter as much, so don't be concerned if you don't see the green bar or security information. Security matters when you send sensitive information like credit card numbers, passwords and private info over the Internet. If you're about to make a purchase, your browser holds the clues.

Look for the "s" in the address and the padlock to make sure it's secure. And if you're concerned that the site could be a scam, look for the green information.

With these things in place, you can feel confident that your information is safe and secure.

Date modified:

Transcription de Sites Web sécurisés

Que ce soit l'achat de chaussures, la gestion de vos comptes ou le réseautage avec vos amis, les sites Internet font partie de notre vie. Or, il existe aujourd'hui de nombreux sites frauduleux conçus pour détourner votre argent ou vos données sensibles. Heureusement, il existe des moyens pour savoir si un site est sécurisé.

Lorsque vous vous rendez sur un site pour faire un achat ou fournir des informations sensibles, il faut garder deux choses à l'esprit : Premièrement, la connexion reliant votre ordinateur à celui de la société en question. Votre nom, numéro de carte bancaire et autres informations vont transiter d'un ordinateur à l'autre. Cette connexion doit être sécurisée pour éviter qu'un escroc ne les intercepte en route. Deuxièmement, cette société est-elle digne de confiance ? Si vous êtes en relation avec une société de confiance et utilisez une connexion sécurisée, vos données sont en sécurité. Mais comment en être sûr ?

Pour en avoir le cœur net, il suffit de vérifier certaines zones de votre navigateur. Revenons sur la connexion mentionnée plus tôt. Les sites Internet sécurisés chiffrent les données avant de les envoyer, ce qui rend ces données inutilisables par les escrocs. Seul l'ordinateur à l'autre extrémité peut les lire. Vos données sont donc sécurisées.

Il existe deux moyens pour savoir si la connexion est sécurisée. La barre d'adresse en est un. Habituellement, les adresses commencent par HTTP. Les sites sécurisés commencent par HTTPS pour « Sécurisé ».

Votre navigateur devrait aussi afficher une icône de cadenas. Si vous voyez le "s" et un cadenas, la connexion est chiffrée et sécurisée.

Et qu'en est-il du propriétaire du site? Comment être sûr qu'il ne s'agit pas d'un escroc possédant une connexion sécurisée? Il existe aussi un moyen. Les navigateurs récents affichent une couleur et le nom de la société dans la barre d'adresse pour savoir si le site est sécurisé. Le principe est simple. Les sociétés pour qui la sécurité est importante font évaluer et valider leur site par des organismes agréés indépendants appelées des autorités de certification.

Ces évaluations rigoureuses garantissent que la société et leur site Internet sont dignes de confiance et utilisent une connexion sécurisée. Si les évaluations sont concluantes, le site reçoit un certificat EV SSL. Seuls les sites possédant ces certificats affichent une couleur et le nom de la société dans la barre d'adresse. Le vert signifie « sécurisé », le rouge, « attention ». Ce procédé signifie que les escrocs ne peuvent pas obtenir les certificats requis pour afficher les couleurs. Donc si la barre affiche une couleur verte, vous êtes sur un site sécurisé.

Maintenant, si vous lisez les actualités ou la météo, la sécurité n'est pas une priorité donc ne paniquez pas si la couleur verte ou le cadenas n'apparaît pas. La sécurité est importante lorsque vous saisissez un numéro de carte bancaire, un mot de passe ou des informations sensibles via Internet. Par exemple, si vous faites un achat, votre navigateur vous indique le niveau de sécurité.

Vérifiez le "s" dans la barre d'adresse et le cadenas. Et si vous avez un doute sur un site, cherchez la couleur verte.

Ainsi, vous pourrez envoyer vos informations sensibles en toute sérénité.

Date de modification :