Back-to-School Instagram Contest

The goal of this contest is to engage students ages 18-25, raising awareness of risks and safety measures they can take when conducting financial transactions online. The contest would also serve to increase the number of followers to Get Cyber Safe/Pensez cybersécurité’s Instagram accounts.

You could win a gift card prize pack!

Students are encouraged to follow the Instagram account, like the post, and tag two friends in the comments. Those that do so will be entered into a draw to win one of four $250 gift card prize packs.

1. Eligibility Criteria

1.1 Contest Period

This contest runs from September 13, 2017 8AM EDT until October 4, 2017 6PM EDT.

1.2 How to Enter

No purchase or entry fee is required.

During the contest period defined in 1.1 Participants must follow the Instagram accounts, like specific posts that describe the contest, and tag two friends.

Limit one contest registration per person.

1.3 Personal Eligibility

Participants must be: Canadian citizens, permanent residents of Canada or protected persons designated by the Immigration and Refugee Board or Citizenship and Immigration Canada.

Entry Forms from Participants under the age of majority in their province or territory of permanent residence must include the signed consent of the Participant's parent or legal guardian.

Contest coordinators, Public Safety (PS) employees, PS contractors, individuals working as casuals within PS, and their immediate families, are not eligible to participate in the Contest.

PS reserves the right to request verification of these eligibility criteria from the Participant at any time.

Any Participant or other individual who enters or attempts to enter the Contest in a manner contrary to the Rules and Regulations or which is otherwise disruptive to the proper operation of the

Contest or by its nature is unjust to other Participants or potential Participants or for any other reason at the sole discretion of PS will be rejected and that Participant or purported Participant will be disqualified from the Contest by PS without notice.

2. Prizes & Draw

2.1 Selecting Prizes

Prizes will be awarded as follows: There are four (4) prize packs to be won during the Contest Period (one each week). The prize packs consist of gift cards to selected stores and services (Amazon, Staples, Forever21, SoftMoc, The Bay, Tim Hortons, Loblaws, Shoppers Drug Mart, Well.ca, Telus, Best Buy, Archambault, eBay) (the “Prize”) in varying amounts for a total retail value of $250. The total value of all prizes is $1,000.

Amazon, Staples, Forever21, SoftMoc, The Bay, Tim Hortons, Loblaws, Shoppers Drug Mart, Well.ca, Telus, Best Buy, Archambault, eBay are not participants or sponsors of this promotion.

2.2 Awarding Prizes

Prizes must be accepted as awarded and are non-refundable, non-transferable and non-redeemable for any cash value. PS reserves the right to make prize substitutions of equivalent monetary value.

PS will pay the costs to deliver the prizes to the winner's home address. Each winner will be responsible for all costs or expenses related to set-up, installation of additional software, service plans and any technical support in connection with the prizes.

2.3 Odds

Participants' chances of winning will depend on the total number eligible entries of received during the Contest Period.

2.4 Draw Details:

English Broadcast:

One (1) random draw will occur at 9am EDT on Monday September 18 and 25, and October 2 and 9 at Public Safety Canada’s office in Ottawa, from all eligible entries received in the comments section of the contest-related posts on Instagram.

Public Safety Canada will post the following message on its Instagram account: “Congratulations Username, you have been selected as one of the winners of a $250 gift card prize pack. Please send us a direct message [to the @GetCyberSafe Instagram account] to claim your prize”.

3. Use of Personal Information

By entering the Contest and submitting a Contest Entry, Participants expressly consent to the collection, use, storage and disclosure by PS of their personal information provided to PS for the purposes of administering the Contest as well as for the other purposes expressly contemplated in these Rules and Regulations in accordance with the provisions of the federal Privacy Act.

Participants expressly consent that PS may use the Participants' personal information to communicate with them and to announce and/or post the usernames of the winners on the @GetCyberSafe Instagram feed. If you are unsatisfied with the way Public Safety handles your personal information, you have the right to file a complaint with the Office of the Privacy Commissioner.

4. Disclaimers and Exclusion of Liability

Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, PS Minister, employees, servants, agents, contractors, assigns or successors assume no responsibility for Contest Entries that are lost, stolen, tampered with, late, damaged, misdirected, received through impermissible channels, illegible or unintelligible for any reason or for any other circumstance that may limit an individual's ability to participate in the Contest or otherwise affect the administration, security, impartiality or normal course of the Contest, including without limitation any combination of the following:

Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada assumes no responsibility to any Participant for any indirect, special, consequential or punitive damages in connection with the Contest or these Rules and Regulations.

5. General

PS reserves the right to exclude from its Instagram feed any Contest Entry that does not comply with these Rules and Regulations or for any reason that PS determines in its sole discretion without notice at any time.

PS reserves the right to modify, suspend or cancel the Contest in whole or in part for any reason at its sole discretion. The ability to apply changes stops on September 10, 2017 at 9:00 PM. All changes will be posted prior to the start of the event.

6. Quebec

The Contest is subject to applicable federal, provincial, and territorial laws. This Contest is void where prohibited or restricted by law. For residents of Québec, any litigation respecting the conduct and awarding of the prizes in this Contest may be submitted to la Régie des alcools, des courses et des jeux du Québec only for the purpose of helping the parties reach a settlement.

7. Confirmation of the understanding and acceptance of the terms and conditions

Public Safety Canada will include a note in the details of the Instagram contest post that directs to these contest rules and regulations. The note will also include a statement that by posting a comment in the comments section, participants may be eligible to win the draw. Submission of an entry to the contest by a Participant will be construed as the Participant acknowledging that they understand and accept the Rules of the Contest.

Date modified:

Concours Instagram de la rentrée scolaire

L'objectif de ce concours est de mobiliser les étudiants âgés de 18 à 25 ans, en les sensibilisant aux risques et aux mesures de sécurité qu'ils peuvent prendre lorsqu'ils effectuent des transactions financières en ligne. Le concours vise également à augmenter le nombre d'abonnés aux comptes Instagram Pensez cybersécurité et Get Cyber Safe.

Vous pourriez gagner un ensemble de cartes-cadeaux!

Les étudiants sont encouragés à suivre le compte Instagram, à aimer le message et à étiqueter deux amis dans les commentaires. Ceux qui le font se verront inscrits à un tirage pour remporter l'un des quatre ensemble de cartes-cadeaux d'une valeur de 250 $ qui incluent l'une des cinq cartes-cadeaux de 100 $ d'un magasin d'applications de source sûre (Amazon, Apple iTunes, Google Play, ou Archambault).

1. Critères d'admissibilité

1.1 Période du concours

Ce concours se déroulera du 13 septembre 2017, à 8 h HAE au 4 octobre, à 18 h HAE.

1.2 Comment s'inscrire

Aucun achat requis ni frais d'inscription.

Pendant la période du concours, définie au point 1.1, les participants doivent suivre les comptes Instagram, aimer des messages spécifiques qui décrivent le concours, et étiqueter deux amis.

Limiter une inscription au concours par personne.

1.3 Admissibilité personnelle

Les participants doivent être : citoyens canadiens, résidents permanents au Canada, ou personnes jouissant d'une protection désignées par la Commission de l'immigration et du statut de réfugié ou Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada.

Les formulaires d'inscription des participants qui n'ont pas atteint l'âge de la majorité dans leur province ou territoire de résidence permanente doivent inclure une déclaration de consentement signée d'un parent du participant ou de son tuteur légal.

Les coordonnateurs du concours, les employés de Sécurité publique (SP), les entrepreneurs de SP, les personnes qui sont employés occasionnels à SP ainsi que leurs familles immédiates ne sont pas admissibles au concours.

SP se réserve le droit de demander de vérifier si le participant répond à ces critères d'admissibilité, en tout temps.

Tout participant ou autre personne qui s'inscrit ou tente de s'inscrire au concours d'une façon contraire aux règlements ou qui perturbe autrement le bon fonctionnement du concours ou qui, par sa nature, est injuste envers d'autres participants ou d'autres participants potentiels ou pour toute autre raison à la seule discrétion de SP, sera exclu et ce participant ou prétendu participant sera disqualifié du concours par SP sans préavis.

2. Prix et tirage

2.1 Choix des prix

Les prix seront accordés de la façon suivante: Il y a quatre (4) prix à gagner pendant la période du concours (un par semaine). Les prix comprennent des cartes-cadeaux pour certains magasins et services (Amazon, Staples, Forever21, SoftMoc, La Baie, Tim Hortons, Loblaws, Shoppers Drug Mart, Well.ca, Telus, Best Buy, Archambault, eBay) (le « prix ») de montants divers pour une valeur totale au détail de 250 $. La valeur totale de tous les prix est de 1000 $.

Amazon, Staples, Forever21, SoftMoc, La Baie, Tim Hortons, Loblaws, Shoppers Drug Mart, Well.ca, Telus, Best Buy, Archambault, eBay ne sont pas des participants ni des commanditaires de cette promotion.

2.2 Attribution des prix

Les prix doivent être acceptés tels qu'ils sont attribués et ne sont pas remboursables, ni transférables, ni rachetables pour une valeur monétaire, quelle qu'elle soit. SP se réserve le droit de substituer un prix par un autre de valeur monétaire équivalente.

SP paiera les coûts de livraison des prix à l'adresse domiciliaire du gagnant. Chaque gagnant sera responsable de tous les coûts ou dépenses liés à la configuration, à l'installation d'autres logiciels, à des plans de service et à tout soutien technique lié aux prix.

2.3 Chances de gagner

Les chances de gagner des participants dépendront du nombre total d'inscriptions admissibles reçues pendant la période du concours.

2.4 Détails du tirage :

Émission anglais :

Un (1) tirage aléatoire aura lieu à 9 h HAE, les lundi 18 et 28 septembre et les 2 et 9 octobre, au bureau de Sécurité publique Canada à Ottawa, à partir de toutes les inscriptions admissibles reçues dans la section des commentaires des messages liés au concours sur Instagram.
Sécurité publique Canada affichera le message suivant sur son compte Instagram : « Congratulations Username, you have been selected as one of the winners of a $250 gift card prize pack.

Please send us a direct message [to the @GetCyberSafe Instagram account] to claim your prize ». ( « Félicitations Nom d'utilisateur, vous avez été sélectionné comme gagnant d'un ensemble de cartes-cadeaux d'une valeur de 250 $. Veuillez nous envoyer un message direct au [compte Instagram @cyber_securite] pour réclamer votre prix »).

3. Utilisation de renseignements personnels

En s'inscrivant au concours et en soumettant une inscription au concours, les participants consentent expressément à la collecte, à l'utilisation, au stockage et à la divulgation de leurs renseignements personnels par SP afin d'administrer le concours ainsi qu'à d'autres fins expressément envisagées dans ces règlements en conformité avec la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels fédérale. Les participants consentent expressément à ce que SP puisse utiliser les renseignements personnels du participant pour communiquer avec eux et pour annoncer et/ou afficher les noms d'utilisateurs des gagnants dans le fil Instagram @cyber_securite.  Si vous êtes insatisfait de la façon dont Sécurité publique gère vos renseignements personnels, vous avez le droit de déposer une plainte au Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada.

4. Clauses de non-responsabilité et exclusion de responsabilité

Sa Majesté la Reine du Chef du Canada, le ministre de la SP, ses employés, ses mandataires, ses agents, ses entrepreneurs, ses ayants droit ou ses successeurs n'assument aucune responsabilité pour les inscriptions au concours perdues, volées, trafiquées, en retard, endommagées, mal acheminées, reçues par des moyens inacceptables, illisibles ou inintelligibles pour toute raison ou pour toute autre circonstance qui pourrait limiter la capacité d'une personne de participer au concours ou autrement avoir une incidence sur l'administration, la sécurité, l'impartialité ou le cours normal du concours, y compris, sans s'y limiter, toute combinaison de ce qui suit :

Sa Majesté la Reine du Chef du Canada n'assume aucune responsabilité à l'égard de tout participant pour tout dommage indirect, particulier, accessoire ou de dommages-intérêts liés au concours ou aux présents règlements.

5. Généralités

SP se réserve le droit d'exclure de son fil Instagram toute inscription au concours qui ne respecte pas les présents règlements ou pour toute raison que SP détermine à sa seule discrétion sans préavis et en tout temps.

SP se réserve le droit de modifier, de suspendre ou d'annuler le concours en tout ou en partie pour toute raison à sa seule discrétion. La capacité d'appliquer des changements se termine le 10 septembre 2017, à 21 h. Tout changement sera affiché avant le début de l'événement.

6. Québec

Le concours est assujetti aux lois fédérales, provinciales et territoriales applicables. Ce concours est nul là où il est prohibé ou restreint par la loi. Pour les résidents du Québec, tout litige relatif à la tenue de ce concours et à l'attribution des prix peut être soumis à la Régie des alcools, des courses et des jeux du Québec seulement dans le but d'aider les parties à arriver à un règlement.

7. Confirmation de la compréhension et de l'acceptation des conditions générales

Sécurité publique Canada inclura une note dans les détails du message concernant le concours Instagram qui comportera un lien vers les présents règlements du concours. La note inclura également un énoncé indiquant qu'en affichant un commentaire dans la section des commentaires, les participants peuvent être admissibles à gagner un prix dans le cadre du tirage. Lorsque le participant soumettra une inscription au concours, cela sera interprété comme une reconnaissance de sa part qu'il comprend et accepte les règlements du concours.

Date de modification :