Mobile and online banking is growing. Are you staying cyber safe?

October 19, 2017

This guest blog post from the Canadian Bankers Association offers insights on the growth of mobile and online banking among Canadians. How do you measure up? And are you taking steps to make sure your computer and devices are safe?

More and more services are being offered online and how we do our banking is no exception. Banking online is becoming more popular, with more than two-thirds (68%) of Canadians now doing most of their banking digitally. There are many benefits to online banking, including the ability to pay bills, deposit cheques and transfer funds at any time, from anywhere. The convenience can come with some risks, but there are simple things you can do to keep you and your money cyber safe.

Canadians value banking innovations

Banks across Canada are fostering innovation to create secure banking solutions, and 90% of Canadians say they are doing a good job of doing so.  More than three-quarters of Canadians reported banking online last year, and 42% of Canadians use it as their primary method of bill payment. You can see how your banking habits compare in the CBA's Issue Brief: How Canadians Bank.  You can also watch this short video.

Why online safety is important

It's important to make sure you are using proper cyber security measures to protect your identity and finances. The banks work hard to keep things secure on their end, but we all need to do our part to make sure our systems are safe too. Cyber criminals may try to access your information from other sources, piecing together what they need to access your financial accounts. If they are successful, they might even access your money – even take out a loan in your name.

What you can do

There are many easy tips you can follow to keep your banking information secure:

For more tips on how to secure your banking info, check out this info on Banking and Finance. It will be a minute well spent!


Follow Get Cyber Safe on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.


Comments

By submitting a comment, you agree to have Public Safety Canada collect the comment and publish it on this website (comment policy).



Comments

Vicky S.

Precautions for Net Banking: - Type the correct URL of the website. - Do not click on links blindly. - Do not share your password with anyone. - Change your passwords frequently. - Check for your Last Login Time and remember the place from where you have accessed it. - Limit the use of Physical Statement. - Review your account statements carefully. - Sign Up for SMS alerts for transfer/debit/credit if the option is available. - Be cautious while filling the information online. - Don't forget to sign-out/log out of the services which is finished. Precautions for Mobile Banking: - Download the app from authentic platform (play store/App store/ officail bank website) - Use Anti-Virus software in the phone - Do Register a complaint if your mobile has been stolen - Don't buy second hand mobile phones or phones without Bill - Don't give your mobile to any unknown person - Don't switch on Bluetooth if it is not required

GetCyberSafe

Great tips, Vicky!

Date modified:

Les services bancaires mobiles et en ligne sont en croissance. Restez-vous cybersécuritaire?

Le 19 octobre 2017

Cet article d'un blogueur invité de l'Association des banquiers canadiens présente un aperçu de la croissance de l'utilisation des services bancaires mobiles et en ligne parmi les Canadiens. Comment vous comparez-vous? Et prenez-vous des mesures pour vous assurer que votre ordinateur et vos appareils sont sécuritaires?

Un nombre croissant de services est offert en ligne et la manière dont nous faisons nos transactions bancaires ne fait pas exception. Les services bancaires en ligne sont de plus en plus populaires. Plus du deux tiers (68 %) des Canadiens font maintenant leurs transactions numériquement. Les services bancaires en ligne ont de nombreux avantages, dont la capacité de payer des factures, de déposer des chèques et de transférer des fonds n'importe quand, de n'importe où. La commodité peut venir avec certains risques, mais il y a des choses simples que vous pouvez faire pour assurer votre cybersécurité et celle de votre argent.

Les Canadiens apprécient les innovations bancaires

Les banques partout au Canada encouragent l'innovation afin de créer des solutions bancaires sécuritaires et 90 % des Canadiens estiment qu'elles font un bon travail dans ce sens. Plus du trois quarts des Canadiens ont déclaré avoir utilisé les services bancaires en ligne l'an dernier et 42 % des Canadiens les utilisent comme principale méthode pour payer des factures. Vous pouvez voir comment vos habitudes bancaires se comparent aux données de la Fiche info - Les Canadiens et leurs services bancaires de l'Association des banquiers canadiens. Vous pouvez également regarder cette courte vidéo.

Pourquoi la sécurité en ligne et-elle importante?

Il est important que vous utilisiez des méthodes de cybersécurité appropriées pour protéger votre identité et vos finances. Les banques travaillent fort pour sécuriser les choses de leur côté, mais nous devons tous mettre la main à la pâte pour nous assurer que nos systèmes sont également sécuritaires. Les cybercriminels peuvent tenter d'obtenir vos renseignements d'autres sources en recoupant ce dont ils ont besoin pour accéder à vos comptes financiers. S'ils réussissent, ils peuvent même accéder à votre argent – et même contracter un prêt sous votre nom.

Que pouvez-vous faire?

Il y a de nombreux conseils faciles que vous pouvez suivre pour assurer la sécurité de vos renseignements bancaires.

Pour obtenir davantage de conseils sur la manière de protéger vos renseignements bancaires, consultez ces renseignements sur les transactions bancaires et financières. Ce sera une minute bien utilisée!


Suivez Pensez cybersécurité sur Twitter, Facebook et Instagram.


Commentaires

En soumettant un commentaire, vous acceptez que Sécurité publique Canada recueille le commentaire et le publie sur ce site (politique sur les commentaires du carnet Web).



Commentaires

Il n'y a pas encore de commentaires pour cette entrée.

Date de modification :